Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 789 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Jesus Christ Superstar

Jesus Christ Superstar“Jesus Christ Superstar is the ultimate rock opera!  There are numerous standout performances in this very talented ensemble. Music, choreography, costumes and lighting are all terrific! It is one of our FEATURED events. GO!” – Performing Arts LIVE

The musical that launched the careers of composer Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyricist Tim Rice and ushered in a new era in musical theater will open DOMA Theatre Company’s 2015 season. Helmed by director Marco Gomez and musical director Chris Raymond, the duo behind DOMA productions of Dreamgirls (LADCC and LA Weekly Awards, L.A. Times “Critic’s Choice”) and Young Frankenstein.

The ground-breaking rock opera by Andrew Lloyd Weber and Tim Race is the story of the last seven days in the life of Jesus of Nazareth — told through the eyes of his betrayer, Judas Iscariot. As Jesus’ radical teachings become increasingly embraced by the populace and his fame approaches superstar status, the zeal with which his followers hail him as the Son of God becomes a source of dismay to Judas. Fearing that this tide of religious fervor will provoke brutal repression by the occupying Romans, the disciple must make his fateful choice between faith and betrayal.

A ground-breaking rock opera that reinvented musical theater for the modern age, Jesus Christ Superstar is the story of the last seven days in the life of Jesus of Nazareth — told through the eyes of his betrayer, Judas Iscariot. As Jesus’ radical teachings become increasingly embraced by the populace and his fame approaches superstar status, the zeal with which his followers hail him as the Son of God becomes a source of dismay to Judas.

“We made Judas a type of Everyman,” explained Rice in an interview. “He did not think of himself as a traitor. What Judas was worried about was that as Christ got bigger and bigger and more popular, people began switching their attentions from what he was saying to Christ himself. Judas was terrified. He reckoned that if the movement got too big, the Romans who were occupying Israel would come down and clobber them.”

Jesus Christ Superstar runs Fridays and Saturdays at 8 p.m. and Sundays at 3 p.m. from Feb. 13 through March 22. Tickets range from $30–$34.99 seniors and students with ID pay only $20. The MET Theatre is located at 1089 N. Oxford Ave., Los Angeles CA 90029. For reservations, call (323) 802-4990.


Presenter / Producer: DOMA Theatre Company

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 323-802-4990

Venue
The MET Theatre
1089 N. Oxford Avenue
Hollywood CA 90029

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 2/13/2015 - 4/19/2015
Friday, 02/13/2015
Saturday, 02/14/2015
Sunday, 02/15/2015
Friday, 02/20/2015
Saturday, 02/21/2015
Sunday, 02/22/2015
Friday, 02/27/2015
Saturday, 02/28/2015
Sunday, 03/01/2015
Friday, 03/06/2015
Saturday, 03/07/2015
Sunday, 03/08/2015
Friday, 03/13/2015
Saturday, 03/14/2015
Sunday, 03/15/2015
Friday, 03/20/2015
Saturday, 03/21/2015
Sunday, 03/22/2015
Friday, 03/27/2015
Saturday, 03/28/2015
Sunday, 03/29/2015
Friday, 04/03/2015
Saturday, 04/04/2015
Sunday, 04/05/2015
Friday, 04/10/2015
Saturday, 04/11/2015
Sunday, 04/12/2015
Friday, 04/17/2015
Saturday, 04/18/2015
Sunday, 04/19/2015

Performance Times
Performances continue through April 19:
• Fridays at 8 p.m.: March 13, 20, 27 April 3, 10, 17
• Saturdays at 8 p.m.: March 14, 21, 28 April 4, 11, 18
• Sundays at 7 p.m.: March 15, 22, 29 April 5, 12, 19

Ticket Information:
General Admission: $30
VIP: $34.99 (includes reserved seating and a complimentary snack and beverage)
Seniors and students with ID: $20

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
www.facebook.com/DOMATHEATRE


 

performing arts performers
stage