Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 553 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet StreetAttend the dark, witty, and Tony Award-winning tale of love, murder and revenge set against the backdrop of 19th century London.

Sweeney Todd, an unjustly exiled barber, returns to London seeking vengeance against the lecherous Judge Turpin who framed him and took his young wife. The road to revenge leads Todd to Mrs. Lovett, the resourceful proprietress of a failing pie shop, above which he opens a new barber practice. Mrs. Lovett’s luck sharply shifts when Todd’s thirst for revenge inspires a new ingredient for her meat pies that has the people of London lining up . . . and the carnage has only just begun! This chilling masterpiece is sure to thrill and delight audiences.

"There is more artistic energy, creative personality and plain excitement than in a dozen average musicals. ...Mr. Sondheim has composed an endlessly inventive, highly expressive score that works indivisibly from his brilliant and abrasive lyrics."
– The New York Times

“Sweeney Todd is here to enrich your nightmares”
-New York Daily News

OB Playhouse brings this deliciously dark tale to life on its intimate stage under the masterful direction of Manny Bejarano and musical direction of Will Ah Sing, with a cast of local theatre favorites:

Sweeney Todd.....Mike Martin
Mrs. Lovett…..Jennie Gray Connard
Judge Turpin…..Michael Van Allen
Anthony .....William BJ Robinson
Johanna…..Evelyn Sparks
Tobias…..SeeJay Lewis
Pirelli…..Vander Turner
The Beadle…..Ferril Cole
Beggar Woman…..Amanda Blair
Jonas Fogg…..Dani Leandra


Presenter / Producer: OB Playhouse & Theatre Company

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 619-795-9305

Venue
OB Playhouse
4944 Newport Ave
San Diego CA 92107

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 5/24/2019 - 6/16/2019
Friday, 05/24/2019
Saturday, 05/25/2019
Sunday, 05/26/2019
Thursday, 05/30/2019
Friday, 05/31/2019
Saturday, 06/01/2019
Sunday, 06/02/2019
Monday, 06/03/2019
Thursday, 06/06/2019
Friday, 06/07/2019
Saturday, 06/08/2019
Sunday, 06/09/2019
Thursday, 06/13/2019
Friday, 06/14/2019
Saturday, 06/15/2019
Sunday, 06/16/2019

Performance Times
Thursday - Saturday @8pm
Sunday @ 3pm

Ticket Information:
Thursdays @8pm & Sundays @2pm
General Admission: $28
VIP front row table: $42

Fridays & Saturdays @8pm
General Admission: $32
VIP front row table: $46


Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
https://www.obtheatrecompany.com/sweeney-todd.html


 

performing arts performers
stage