Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 516 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Lights Out: Nat "King" Cole

Lights Out: Nat Reprising their roles from a sold-out run at People’s Light & Theater in Philadelphia, Emmy Award nominee Dulé Hill (West Wing Psych Bring in ‘da Noise, Bring in ‘da Funk) as Nat “King” Cole and Hamilton star Daniel J. Watts as Sammy Davis Jr. bring life to a play the Philadelphia Inquirer called “profound, ambitious, wide-ranging and dreamlike.” Like Cole himself, Lights Out promises to be “Unforgettable.”

In this electrifying exploration into the soul of an American icon, Tony and Olivier Award nominee Colman Domingo and Patricia McGregor imagine Nat “King” Cole as he faces the final Christmastime broadcast of his groundbreaking variety show and weighs the advice of his friend Sammy Davis Jr. to “go out with a bang.” Cole’s hit songs, such as “Nature Boy,” “It’s a Good Day” and “Smile,” underscore this boldly original homage to the renowned performer who struggled to break through America’s color barrier in the early days of television. A feast for the eyes, ears and soul, the musical incorporates lively choreography by Broadway veteran Edgar Godineaux and dazzling tap dance seeped in politics and pizzazz created by renowned hoofer Jared Grimes.

Presenter / Producer: Geffen Playhouse

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 310-208-5454

Venue
Geffen Playhouse
10886 Le Conte
Los Angeles CA 90024

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 2/5/2019 - 3/24/2019
Tuesday, 02/05/2019
Wednesday, 02/06/2019
Thursday, 02/07/2019
Friday, 02/08/2019
Saturday, 02/09/2019
Sunday, 02/10/2019
Tuesday, 02/12/2019
Wednesday, 02/13/2019
Thursday, 02/14/2019
Friday, 02/15/2019
Saturday, 02/16/2019
Sunday, 02/17/2019
Tuesday, 02/19/2019
Wednesday, 02/20/2019
Thursday, 02/21/2019
Friday, 02/22/2019
Saturday, 02/23/2019
Sunday, 02/24/2019
Tuesday, 02/26/2019
Wednesday, 02/27/2019
Thursday, 02/28/2019
Friday, 03/01/2019
Saturday, 03/02/2019
Sunday, 03/03/2019
Tuesday, 03/05/2019
Wednesday, 03/06/2019
Thursday, 03/07/2019
Friday, 03/08/2019
Saturday, 03/09/2019
Sunday, 03/10/2019
Tuesday, 03/12/2019
Wednesday, 03/13/2019
Thursday, 03/14/2019
Friday, 03/15/2019
Saturday, 03/16/2019
Sunday, 03/17/2019
Tuesday, 03/19/2019
Wednesday, 03/20/2019
Thursday, 03/21/2019
Friday, 03/22/2019
Saturday, 03/23/2019
Sunday, 03/24/2019

Performance Times
Tuesday - Friday at 8:00 pm
Saturday at 3:00 pm and 8:00 pm
Sunday at 2:00 pm and 7:00 pm

Ticket Information:
Tickets start at $30.00

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
https://www.instagram.com/geffenplayhouse/

https://twitter.com/GeffenPlayhouse


 

performing arts performers
stage