Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 251 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Free Shakespeare 2021: Pericles, Prince of Tyre

Free Shakespeare 2021: Pericles, Prince of TyreFree Shakespeare's 39th season features a four-episode production of 'Pericles, Prince of Tyre' in a new verse translation by Ellen McLaughlin.

Free Shakespeare in the Park's 39th season features a four-episode production of Shakespeare's epic tale, "Pericles, Prince of Tyre" in a new verse translation by playwright Ellen McLaughlin.

The season begins with broadcasts of Episodes 1-3 on YouTube Live. Episode 4 ushers San Francisco Shakespeare Festival's return to in-person outdoor performances in Bay Area parks. Be sure to get tickets to all four episodes.

"Pericles, Prince of Tyre" is a Jacobean adventure set in the classical past. The play spans many years in the life of the hero and his family. The action ricochets all over the Eastern Mediterranean moving from one ancient city to the next with travel animated by peril and punctuated by near-death experiences, tempests, and pirate kidnapping. These elements make Pericles an ideal play to perform episodically in miniseries fashion with cliffhangers bringing you back to for each new installment.

As each new episode is performed, the prior episode will be made available as an on-demand recording. Episode 4 will be performed outdoors and in-person throughout the Bay Area, details to be announced.

Episode 1: July 2 - July 11 / "The sails are filled, the seas are met"
Episode 2: July 16 - July 25 / "In you lies all my hope"
Episode 3: July 30 - August 8 / "The storm without, the storm within"
Episode 4: August 28 - October 10 (outdoor park performances, locations & details to be announced) "This great miracle"   

As always, there is no charge for Free Shakespeare, nor for the recordings of this performance!

Presenter / Producer: San Francisco Shakespeare Festival

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 415-558-0888

Venue
San Francisco Shakespeare Festival
Live broadcast via YouTube
San Francisco CA 94146

Regions:
Other


Performance Dates: 7/9/2021 - 8/8/2021
Friday, 07/09/2021
Saturday, 07/10/2021
Sunday, 07/11/2021
Friday, 07/16/2021
Saturday, 07/17/2021
Sunday, 07/18/2021
Friday, 07/23/2021
Saturday, 07/24/2021
Sunday, 07/25/2021
Friday, 07/30/2021
Saturday, 07/31/2021
Sunday, 08/01/2021
Friday, 08/06/2021
Saturday, 08/07/2021
Sunday, 08/08/2021

Performance Times
LIVE BROADCASTS: July 2 - Aug 8, 2021 (no show July 4) / Fridays & Saturdays at 7pm Sundays at 4pm / Live, in-person shows Aug 28-Oct 10 (details tba

Ticket Information( FREE EVENT! ):
Free!

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage