Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 566 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram



Fierce Beauty Part II

Fierce Beauty Part IIJoin Jacaranda Music in its final performance! Featuring pianists Scott Dunn and Andreas Apostolou, violinist Movses Pogossian, and the Jacaranda Chamber Orchestra.

Richard Strauss – Till Eulenspiegel, einmal anders!
Leonard Rosenman/Dunn – Rebel Without A Cause “Main Title” & “Planetarium” East of Eden “Finale”
Arnold Schoenberg – Chamber Symphony No. 1, Op. 9
J.S. Bach – Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D minor
Schoenberg — Suite for Piano, Op. 25, “Gigue”
Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 10 Adagio

Fierce Beauty Part II presents a turning point in music – Schoenberg pared down a symphony orchestra to fifteen musicians and condensed four-movements into one. Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1, Op. 9, is an iconic masterpiece. His model inspired many other composers, including Franz Hasenöhrl, who arranged Richard Strauss’s lively and tuneful Till Eulenspiegel (1895) from its original massive orchestration to a version for just five instruments – violin, clarinet, horn, bassoon, and double bass, which opens the concert. Additionally, in a piano arrangement by Scott Dunn, Jacaranda presents the music from Rebel Without a Cause and East of Eden by two-time Oscar-winning film composer Leonard Rosenman. He studied with Schoenberg and had more than 130 film credits, including Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home. Dunn is a “suave, masterly, insouciant… riveting” pianist (Los Angeles Times). After intermission, three seminal works packed with emotion provide a bittersweet finale to Jacaranda’s glorious 20-year run. Bach’s monumental “Chaconne” from Partita No. 2 in D minor, an emotional 15-minute tour de-force, is interpreted by longtime Jacaranda violinist Movses Pogossian, hailed for his “fiery, centered, and highly musical performances” (Boston Globe). Foreshadowing Gershwin is Schoenberg’s delightful “Gigue” from Suite for Piano, Op. 25 performed by Andreas Apostolou (“poetic expression and powerful technique…a combination of musical imagination and emotional depth is rare.” – Andrè Watts). Jacaranda then fades to black with Mahler’s final work, the fiercely beautiful Symphony No. 10 “Adagio” arranged for strings and including a thrilling surprise.

Presenter / Producer: Jacaranda Music

Listed Categories
Music > Chamber Music

Event Phone: 213-483-0216

First Pres of Santa Monica
1220 2nd Street
Santa Monica CA 90401

LA - Hollywood / Westside

Performance Dates: 2/25/2024
Sunday, 02/25/2024

Performance Times
7 pm

Ticket Information:
$45 General Admission
$20 Student/Fixed Income

Web Link for ticketing

Event Information

Social Media or other Links:


performing arts performers