Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 584 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Fandango for Butterflies (and Coyotes)

Fandango for Butterflies (and Coyotes) This “rapturous” and "riveting“ new play is a "sensitive portrait of the in-between: characters balancing the small joys of everyday life with the fear of uncertainty" (The New York Times).


Fandangos are vibrant gatherings in which music and dance bring stories of a community to life. For a group of immigrants gathering in a community center on the eve of a city-wide ICE raid, this night’s fandango serves a vital purpose: to resurrect the culture they left behind. Inspired by interviews with Latin American immigrants – many of whom made a dangerous journey to the United States – Fandango for Butterflies (and Coyotes) is a celebration of the resiliency and camaraderie that can be built as strangers become friends, friends become family, and the music plays on. This “rapturous” and "riveting“ new play is a "sensitive portrait of the in-between: characters balancing the small joys of everyday life with the fear of uncertainty" (The New York Times).

Presenter / Producer: La Jolla Playhouse

Listed Categories
Theater > Other


Event Phone: 858-550-1010

Venue
Mandell Weiss Forum
2910 La Jolla Village Drive
La Jolla CA 92093

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 8/30/2022 - 9/25/2022
Tuesday, 08/30/2022
Wednesday, 08/31/2022
Thursday, 09/01/2022
Friday, 09/02/2022
Saturday, 09/03/2022
Sunday, 09/04/2022
Tuesday, 09/06/2022
Wednesday, 09/07/2022
Thursday, 09/08/2022
Friday, 09/09/2022
Saturday, 09/10/2022
Sunday, 09/11/2022
Tuesday, 09/13/2022
Wednesday, 09/14/2022
Thursday, 09/15/2022
Friday, 09/16/2022
Saturday, 09/17/2022
Sunday, 09/18/2022
Tuesday, 09/20/2022
Wednesday, 09/21/2022
Thursday, 09/22/2022
Friday, 09/23/2022
Saturday, 09/24/2022
Sunday, 09/25/2022

Performance Times
Tuesdays & Wednesdays: 7:30pm
Thursdays & Fridays: 8:00pm
Saturdays: 2:00pm, 8:00pm
Sundays: 2:00pm, 7:00pm

Ticket Information:
$25-45

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
instagram.com/lajollaplayhouse

facebook.com/lajollaplayhouse


 

performing arts performers
stage