Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 584 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Cabaret

CabaretWE'VE GOT MORE CHANCES FOR YOU TO CATCH THIS SEDUCTIVE AND POWERFUL MUSICAL.    

NOW THROUGH October 2nd.

Cygnet is pleased to remount one of its best-selling hit musicals! Cabaret depicts the interlocking stories of a cabaret singer, an American writer and the denizens of Berlin, all caught up in the swirling maelstrom of a changing society.


In the seamy, sleazy Kit Kat Klub, on the eve of Hitler’s rise to power, almost anything – including love – is possible.

This dark, daring and provocative musical was winner of 8 Tony Awards including Best Musical, Composer and Lyricist. Based on “The Berlin Stories” by Christopher Isherwood.

The show features Karson St. John returning to her role as Emcee, for which she won a San Diego Theatre Critics Circle Award in 2011 (Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical). Coming full circle for St. John who took a hiatis from acting shortly after playing the Emcee in 2011, reprising this role marks her return to the stage after nearly a decade.

Sean Murray, who also received a San Diego Theatre Critics Circle Award in 2011 for Cabaret (Outstanding Direction of a Musical), said "Cabaret, the innovative 1966 inspiration for all concept musicals, through several revivals has adapted and morphed over the years and remained a visceral warning as to the subtleties and dangers of rising extremism. Famous for its brilliant score, it is both entertaining and thought-provoking, qualities we value for the plays we choose for our audience.
This particular show is a rich place to mine it for further truths and opens itself up, each time one works on it or sees it, to new insights and perspectives. I have returned to it again and again over the years as it reveals more and more with passing time. I truly love this musical."

Presenter / Producer: Cygnet Theatre

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 619-337-1525

Venue
Cygnet Theatre
4040 Twiggs Street
San Diego CA 92110

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 7/13/2022 - 10/2/2022
Wednesday, 07/13/2022
Thursday, 07/14/2022
Friday, 07/15/2022
Saturday, 07/16/2022
Sunday, 07/17/2022
Wednesday, 07/20/2022
Thursday, 07/21/2022
Friday, 07/22/2022
Saturday, 07/23/2022
Sunday, 07/24/2022
Wednesday, 07/27/2022
Thursday, 07/28/2022
Friday, 07/29/2022
Saturday, 07/30/2022
Sunday, 07/31/2022
Wednesday, 08/03/2022
Thursday, 08/04/2022
Friday, 08/05/2022
Saturday, 08/06/2022
Sunday, 08/07/2022
Wednesday, 08/10/2022
Thursday, 08/11/2022
Friday, 08/12/2022
Saturday, 08/13/2022
Sunday, 08/14/2022
Wednesday, 08/17/2022
Thursday, 08/18/2022
Friday, 08/19/2022
Saturday, 08/20/2022
Sunday, 08/21/2022
Wednesday, 08/24/2022
Thursday, 08/25/2022
Friday, 08/26/2022
Saturday, 08/27/2022
Sunday, 08/28/2022
Wednesday, 08/31/2022
Thursday, 09/01/2022
Friday, 09/02/2022
Saturday, 09/03/2022
Sunday, 09/04/2022
Wednesday, 09/07/2022
Thursday, 09/08/2022
Friday, 09/09/2022
Saturday, 09/10/2022
Sunday, 09/11/2022
Wednesday, 09/14/2022
Thursday, 09/15/2022
Friday, 09/16/2022
Saturday, 09/17/2022
Sunday, 09/18/2022
Wednesday, 09/21/2022
Thursday, 09/22/2022
Friday, 09/23/2022
Saturday, 09/24/2022
Sunday, 09/25/2022
Wednesday, 09/28/2022
Friday, 09/30/2022
Saturday, 10/01/2022
Sunday, 10/02/2022

Performance Times
Wednesday & Thursday at 7:30 PM
Friday at 8:00 PM
Saturday at 3:00 PM and 8:00 PM    
Sunday at 2:00 PM

Ticket Information:
Prices start at $30 with discounts for preview performances, students, and military.

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage