Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 877 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

American Contemporary Ballet: Astaire Dances III

American Contemporary Ballet: Astaire Dances IIIThis February, the most unique and romantic Valentine's date night happens in the heart of downtown L.A.: American Contemporary Ballet's tribute to the man who taught us how to make love by dancing.  

This season's show include all new Astaire numbers and a new ballet by ACB Artistic Director Lincoln Jones


ACB Presents Astaire Dances III
An unrequited crush on the man who swept generations off their feet

This February, L.A. audiences can mark their dance cards for one of the most intoxicating evenings in the city: ACB’s annual valentine to one of the world’s best-known dancers – and to an unabashed nostalgia for a time when love was at once innocent and sophisticated, glamorous and giddy, and set to some of the best songs ever written.

Like the first two programs in ACB’s fan-favorite series, Astaire Dances III brings some of his most memorable big-screen numbers to life in step-by-step recreations to live music. “Astaire is thought of as the ultimate dancer, but he is also one of the greatest choreographers of the 20th century,” says ACB Artistic Director Lincoln Jones. “His dances are so musical, so clear in their intentions, it’s easy to forget how difficult that is to achieve. And following in his footsteps as a dancer is about as intimidating as it gets. Baryshnikov said, ‘No dancer can watch Fred Astaire and not know that we all should have been in another business.’ We’re reminded of that every day.”

The series’ newest program includes Astaire’s dances to Cole Porter’s “All Of You” and “Night and Day,” as well as Gershwin’s “You Can’t Take That Away From Me” and Johnny Mercer’s “Something’s Gotta Give.” The show also includes a new ballet by Jones inspired by Astaire's work.

“I can’t think of a more romantic Valentine’s date than watching these dances,” says ACB Executive Director Theresa Farrell.  “Who doesn’t want to feel that we could still be swept off our feet and whisked away to a place where you and your partner are the only two people in the world – except for an orchestra and waiters with trays of champagne, of course! You can’t walk away from this show without your heart and your step feeling lighter than air.”

Presenter / Producer: American Contemporary Ballet

Listed Categories
Dance > Ballet


Event Phone: 213-304-3408

Venue
American Contemporary Ballet
877 S. Francisco Street
Upper Level
Los Angeles CA 90017

Regions:
LA - Central / Downtown


Performance Dates: 2/1/2020 - 2/16/2020
Saturday, 02/01/2020
Sunday, 02/02/2020
Friday, 02/07/2020
Saturday, 02/08/2020
Sunday, 02/09/2020
Thursday, 02/13/2020
Friday, 02/14/2020
Saturday, 02/15/2020
Sunday, 02/16/2020

Performance Times
Saturday, February 1 at 8:00 pm
Sunday, February 2 at 5:00pm
Friday, February 7 at 8:00pm
Saturday, February 8 at 5:00pm
Sunday, February 9 at 2:00pm
Thursday, February 13 at 8:00pm
Friday, February 14 at 8:00pm
Saturday, February 15 at 5:00 pm & 8:00 pm
Sunday, February 16 at 2:00pm & 5:00pm

Ticket Information:
Tickets are $45 - $105

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
@americancontemporaryballet


 

performing arts performers
stage