Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 648 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

The Tale of Despereaux

The Tale of DespereauxBook, music, and lyrics by PigPen Theatre Co.
Based on the novel by Kate DiCamillo and the Universal Pictures animated film
Directed by Marc Bruni and PigPen Theatre Co.


The acclaimed PigPen Theatre Co. charmed and astonished Old Globe audiences with The Old Man and The Old Moon. Now they return to San Diego, bringing their one-of-a-kind theatrical and musical inventiveness to Kate DiCamillo’s beloved, Newbery Medal–winning modern fable. Despereaux is a courageous mouse who dreams of becoming a knight. He sets off on a noble quest that will take him down into dungeons and up to the heights of a castle tower to rescue a beautiful human princess—but the dark-hearted rat Roscuro has other ideas. The Boston Herald proclaims, “PigPen Theatre Co. is already a phenomenon,” while The New Yorker says, “It’s like watching child geniuses at play!” Full of gorgeous music, stunning stage effects, witty performances, and a message of optimism and community, The Tale of Despereaux is an inspiring and beguiling story for all ages.

Production Sponsors
Peter Cooper and Erik Matwijkow
Silvija and Brian Devine
Hal and Pam Fuson

Artist Sponsor for PigPen Theatre Co.
Jeanette Stevens

Artist Sponsor for Marc Bruni (Director)
Sue and Edward "Duff" Sanderson



Presenter / Producer: Marc Bruni

Listed Categories
Theater > Theatrical Comedy


Event Phone: 619-231-1941

Venue
The Old Globe
1363 Old Globe Way
San Diego CA 92101

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 7/6/2019 - 8/11/2019
Saturday, 07/06/2019
Sunday, 07/07/2019
Tuesday, 07/09/2019
Wednesday, 07/10/2019
Thursday, 07/11/2019
Friday, 07/12/2019
Saturday, 07/13/2019
Sunday, 07/14/2019
Tuesday, 07/16/2019
Wednesday, 07/17/2019
Thursday, 07/18/2019
Friday, 07/19/2019
Saturday, 07/20/2019
Sunday, 07/21/2019
Tuesday, 07/23/2019
Wednesday, 07/24/2019
Thursday, 07/25/2019
Friday, 07/26/2019
Saturday, 07/27/2019
Sunday, 07/28/2019
Tuesday, 07/30/2019
Wednesday, 07/31/2019
Thursday, 08/01/2019
Friday, 08/02/2019
Saturday, 08/03/2019
Sunday, 08/04/2019
Tuesday, 08/06/2019
Wednesday, 08/07/2019
Thursday, 08/08/2019
Friday, 08/09/2019
Saturday, 08/10/2019
Sunday, 08/11/2019

Performance Times
8:00

Ticket Information:
starts at 30$

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage