Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 941 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

The Lion

The LionThe Lion, the Drama Desk Award-winning piece written and performed by Benjamin Scheuer, has redefined the genre of musical theater. Scheuer tells, sings, and plays the turbulent story of his family and his own brush with mortality, with his supporting cast of six guitars.

“A mesmerizing guitarist,” Scheuer’s "songs are awfully well-constructed there’s a hint of Paul Simon in Scheuer’s easy, knowing lyrics and disciplined musicianship,” says The Washington Post. The New York Times says Scheuer “gets to the heart of the matter” in this celebrated autobiographical show. Like its hero, The Lion roars.

“Spellbinding! The best musical I've seen this year!” – The Huffington Post

“Wondrous…revelatory…incredibly entertaining!” – San Francisco Gate

“Scheuer’s style of composing and performing exhibits flashes of jazz, bluegrass, Dylan, Jeff Buckley, maybe even a little Morrissey in its lyrical mix of the whimsical and the achingly personal.” – San Diego Union Tribune

Listen to select songs and view more music videos at thelionmusical.com.

Presenter / Producer: Geffen Playhouse

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 310-208-5454

Venue
Geffen Playhouse - Audrey Skirball Kenis Theater
10886 Le Conte Avenue
Los Angeles CA 90024

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 1/4/2017 - 2/19/2017
Wednesday, 01/04/2017
Thursday, 01/05/2017
Saturday, 01/07/2017
Sunday, 01/08/2017
Tuesday, 01/10/2017
Wednesday, 01/11/2017
Thursday, 01/12/2017
Friday, 01/13/2017
Saturday, 01/14/2017
Sunday, 01/15/2017
Tuesday, 01/17/2017
Wednesday, 01/18/2017
Thursday, 01/19/2017
Friday, 01/20/2017
Saturday, 01/21/2017
Sunday, 01/22/2017
Tuesday, 01/24/2017
Wednesday, 01/25/2017
Thursday, 01/26/2017
Friday, 01/27/2017
Saturday, 01/28/2017
Sunday, 01/29/2017
Tuesday, 01/31/2017
Wednesday, 02/01/2017
Thursday, 02/02/2017
Friday, 02/03/2017
Saturday, 02/04/2017
Sunday, 02/05/2017
Monday, 02/06/2017
Tuesday, 02/07/2017
Thursday, 02/09/2017
Friday, 02/10/2017
Saturday, 02/11/2017
Sunday, 02/12/2017
Tuesday, 02/14/2017
Wednesday, 02/15/2017
Thursday, 02/16/2017
Friday, 02/17/2017
Saturday, 02/18/2017
Sunday, 02/19/2017

Performance Times
Tuesday – Friday                    8:00pm
Saturday                                 3:00pm 8:00pm
Sunday                                    2:00pm

Ticket Information:
Ticket prices are currently $60 and up and are available in-person at the Geffen Playhouse box office, via phone at 310.208.5454 or online at www.geffenplayhouse.com. Fees may apply.

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
thelionmusical.com


 

performing arts performers
stage