Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 868 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

The Latina Christmas Special

The Latina Christmas SpecialBack by popular demand!  Bursting with laughs, more laughs, music and escandalo (“scandal”)!

The Latina Christmas Special, written and performed by acclaimed comedians Diana Yanez, Maria Russell and Sandra Valls, returns to The Los Angeles Theatre Center for a third year of holiday joy. Directed by Geoffrey Rivas, the Latino Theater Company production runs Dec. 1 though Jan. 7, with one low-priced preview on Nov. 30.

You thought your holidays with the family were dramatic? Wait until you hear these touching and hilarious Christmas stories of holidays past from three first-generation Latinas: the Texas native, Mexican-American Valls (Showtime’s Latin Divas of Comedy) Miami-born, Cuban-American Yanez (Margaret Cho’s The Sensuous Woman) and, the daughter of “an over-dedicated Mexican mother and compliant Lithuanian father,” Russell (MTV’s Teen Wolf Warner Brothers/New Line Cinema's Lights Out). When these three sassy friends get together, they drink plenty of tequila, dish about everything from moms to cucarachas to Farrah Fawcett, and share their funny and surprisingly personal stories of childhood Christmas “dramas.”

“These stories touch each and every audience member, no matter their background, on many different levels,” Rivas said. “They are also a window into some of the beautiful traditions we have within the Latino community.”

According to Yanez, “The ‘special’ in the title is an homage to all the TV shows we watched growing up — all those ‘Christmas Specials’ that we so closely identified with during the holidays, but that had no Latinos in them (or maybe just Jose Feliciano).”

Four years ago Rivas, who had seen an earlier version, offered to direct and bring the show to The LATC where it was a huge success. In its “Critic’s Choice” review, the Los Angeles Times called Rivas’ production “hilarious and heartwrenching… [a] very special ‘Special’,” and Stage Raw hailed its “universal humor, gumption, sass and hearts brimming with dynamic stories.”

Performances of The Latina Christmas Special take place Dec. 1 through Jan. 7 on Thursdays and Fridays at 8 p.m. Saturdays at 2 p.m. and 8 p.m. and Sundays at 3 p.m., with one additional performance on Monday, Dec. 18 at 8 p.m. (dark Dec. 15 and Dec. 24 through Jan. 3). There will be one preview performance, on Thursday, Nov. 30 at 8 p.m. Tickets range from $32 – $37 preview tickets range from $22 – $27. Discounts are available for students, seniors and military veterans. The Los Angeles Theatre Center is located at 514 S. Spring St., Los Angeles, CA 90013. For more information and to purchase tickets, call (866) 811-4111 or go to www.thelatc.org.



Presenter / Producer: Latino Theater Company

Listed Categories
Theater > Theatrical Comedy


Event Phone: 866-811-4111

Venue
The Los Angeles Theatre Center
514 S. Spring Street
Los Angeles CA 90013

Regions:
LA - Central / Downtown


Performance Dates: 11/30/2017 - 1/7/2018
Thursday, 11/30/2017
Friday, 12/01/2017
Saturday, 12/02/2017
Sunday, 12/03/2017
Friday, 12/08/2017
Saturday, 12/09/2017
Sunday, 12/10/2017
Saturday, 12/16/2017
Sunday, 12/17/2017
Monday, 12/18/2017
Thursday, 12/21/2017
Friday, 12/22/2017
Saturday, 12/23/2017
Thursday, 01/04/2018
Friday, 01/05/2018
Saturday, 01/06/2018
Sunday, 01/07/2018

Performance Times
Thurs - Sat. 8:00 pm Sat. 2:00 pm Sun. 3:00 pm

Ticket Information:
http://www.thelatc.org

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
www.facebook.com/theLATC


 

performing arts performers
stage