Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 818 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

The Last Wife

The Last WifeHenry VIII, Katherine Parr and the the Tudors, re-imagined in the 21st Century.

WHAT: The Last Wife. Los Angeles Premiere engagement of a play.
WHO: Written by Kate Hennig. Directed by L. Flint Esquerra. Produced for Theatre 40 by David Hunt Stafford.


The Last Wife moves the story of King Henry VIII and his final wife, the wealthy widow Katherine Parr, to the 21st Century in this fascinating what-if imagining of The Tudors. Katherine Parr actively plays a role in being the stepmother to Henry’s three surviving children, Edward, Mary and Bess. Edward is the Heir Apparent, but Katherine acts to have Mary and Bess added to the line of succession, advancing their status as women of royal privilege. Henry also makes her Queen Regent when he goes off to war.
Katherine’s marriage to Henry interrupts her ongoing affair with nobleman and soldier Edward Seymour. Given Henry’s track record with wives, will Katherine’s head remain upon her shoulders?
The Canadian Kate Hennig is the playwright. The Toronto native is the associate artistic director of the Shaw Festival. Her plays include The Last Wife and The Virgin Trial. Also an actor, she won the Dora Award for Best Actress in a Musical for Billy Elliott.
L. Flint Esquerra directs. The longtime artistic director of the MET Theatre, his directing credits there include California Dreaming, Anatole Vs., Western Big Sky, Head: The Brain That Wouldn’t Die, Heydrich/Hitler/Holocaust, Twilight in Venice and Amelia Learns to Fly. He also directed Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and A Streetcar Named Desire at Lonny Chapman Group Repertory Theatre. He holds a Master’s Degree from American Film Institute.
The cast for The Last Wife includes Lily Daugherty, Andrew Grigorian, Natalie Rudolph, Olivia, Saccomanno, Caleb Slavens and David Hunt Stafford.
Assistant director: Jean Sportelli. Stage manager: Richard Carner. Lighting design: Brandon Baruch. Sound design: Joseph “Sloe” Slawinski. Set design: Jeff G. Rack. Costume design: Michèle Young.
The centuries may pass, but patriarchy and the fight for gender equity remain alive and well in the present day. Beyond the political relevance of the narrative, The Last Wife is a lively examination of romantic love, family love, and duty.



Presenter / Producer: Theatre 40

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 310-364-0535

Venue
Theatre 40
241 S. Moreno Dr.
Beverly Hills CA 90212

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 1/18/2018 - 2/18/2018
Thursday, 01/18/2018
Friday, 01/19/2018
Saturday, 01/20/2018
Sunday, 01/21/2018
Thursday, 01/25/2018
Friday, 01/26/2018
Saturday, 01/27/2018
Sunday, 01/28/2018
Thursday, 02/01/2018
Friday, 02/02/2018
Saturday, 02/03/2018
Sunday, 02/04/2018
Thursday, 02/08/2018
Friday, 02/09/2018
Saturday, 02/10/2018
Sunday, 02/11/2018
Thursday, 02/15/2018
Friday, 02/16/2018
Saturday, 02/17/2018
Sunday, 02/18/2018

Performance Times
Thurs.-Sat. at 8:00, Sun. at 2:00. The performance on Jan. 19 starts at 7:00.

Ticket Information:
$30

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
www.theatre40.org


 

performing arts performers
stage