Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 989 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

The Immigrant

The ImmigrantSimon Levy directs this true story of an immigrant.

Rural Central Texas, 1909. A young Russian-Jewish immigrant, newly arrived in America through the port of Galveston, pulls his banana cart into the hamlet of Hamilton.


Fleeing the vicious pogroms of his homeland, he has sought refuge in the land of the free. Able to speak only Yiddish, alone in the midst of a staunchly Christian community, he is offered shelter. Over the next 30 years, he makes a home and raises a family in this tiny town. THE IMMIGRANT is the story of a young Russian-Jewish couple and the local couple that take them in, as religion meets religion, culture meets culture, fear meets fear, and love meets love. This is the true story of Haskell Harelik, “the Immigrant.”

Written by Mark Harelik, the show debuted in Denver in 1985. It was based on his novel. His other plays include The Legacy and Hank Williams: Lost Highway. He is also an actor.

Simon Levy directs the new production of The Immigrant. Best known as the Producing Director of the Fountain Theatre for the last 25 years, he is one of the most-honored directors in Los Angeles. He has directed and/or produced over 100 shows that have garnered 170 awards. He is the recipient of the Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle’s Milton Katselas Career Achievement Award in Directing. His directing credits include The Chosen (L.A. Times Critic’s Choice, extended at the Fountain Theatre through May 14, 2018)  The Painted Rocks at Revolver Creek (L.A. Times Critic’s Choice) Reborning (L.A. Times Critic’s Choice) The Normal Heart (L.A. Drama Critics Circle Award) Cyrano (L.A. Drama Critics Circle Award for Direction) Opus (L.A. Times Critic’s Choice) Daisy in the Dreamtime (L.A. Times Critic’s Choice) and many more.

Mr. Levy’s cast for The Immigrant includes (in alphabetical order) Sigi Gradwohl, Stuart Howard, Kaye Kittrell and Adam Lebowitz-Lockard.

Co-Producer: Estelle Campbell. Associate Producer: Nick Dugan. Set/Projection design: Matt Hill. Costume design: Shon LeBlanc. Lighting design: Derek Jones. Sound design: Peter Bayne. Dialect Coach: Deborah Ross Sullivan. Lobby/Special events curator: Diane Siegel. Graphic design: Kiff Scholl.

“A buoyant, heartbreaking achievement….The Immigrant speaks to what it is to be an American.”---Denver Post

Presenter / Producer: Sierra Madre Playhouse

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 626-355-4318

Venue
Sierra Madre Playhouse
87 W. Sierra Madre Blvd.
Sierra Madre CA 91024

Regions:
Pasadena / San Gabriel Valley


Performance Dates: 4/20/2018 - 5/26/2018
Friday, 04/20/2018
Saturday, 04/21/2018
Sunday, 04/22/2018
Friday, 04/27/2018
Saturday, 04/28/2018
Sunday, 04/29/2018
Friday, 05/04/2018
Saturday, 05/05/2018
Sunday, 05/06/2018
Friday, 05/11/2018
Saturday, 05/12/2018
Sunday, 05/13/2018
Friday, 05/18/2018
Saturday, 05/19/2018
Sunday, 05/20/2018
Friday, 05/25/2018
Saturday, 05/26/2018

Performance Times
Fri. at 8:00, Sat. at 2:30 and 8:00, Sun. at 2:30.

Ticket Information:
General  $40.  Seniors (65+) $36. Youth (22 and under) $25.

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage