Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 1004 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Swansong

SwansongAustralian Theatre Company and Skylight Theatre Company bring the tour-de-force performance of André de Vanny to Los Angeles for the first time. Written by Conor McDermottroe, directed by Greg Caroll.


“Exceptional. That ‘wow’ moment: André de Vanny providing us with riveting demonstrations of the power of one.” – The Sydney Morning Herald

Pulled from the streets of 1960’s Ireland, this gritty monodrama tells the story of Austin “Occi” Byrne, abused and isolated, violent and vulnerable, flawed and searching for redemption. This is theatre that doesn’t settle for easy answers. André de Vanny was invited for two sell out seasons at Sydney’s The Old Fitz Theatre as well as Melbourne’s Metanoia Theatre, and most recently at Theatre Works in Melbourne. Written by Conor McDermottroe, directed by Greg Caroll.

Translated into German and Swedish, Conor McDermottroe’s international hit play Swansong was adapted to film. Selected for the Munich, Montreal and Camerimage film festivals, Swansong won best drama at the Galway Film Fleadh and was nominated for six ITFA’s.

“Occi is an eternal optimist, says de Vanny, “we all know people who have hope even in the most dire situations. This is a timeless, relevant story. Prejudice and mental illness are unfortunately still prevalent in society today. This play speaks to those issues here and now. It shines a light on people who slip through the cracks, those who are outcast and forgotten.”

Swansong opens at 8:30pm on Saturday, September 8th and continues Fridays and Saturdays at 8:30pm Sundays at 2:00pm and Mondays at 8:00pm through October 7, 2018. Skylight Theatre is located at 1816 1/2 N. Vermont Ave, LA, 90027. Tickets are $15 - $32. Reservations: (866) 811-4111, atctix.org or http://SkylightTix.com



Presenter / Producer: Australian Theatre Company and Skylight Theatre Company

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 866-811-4111

Venue
Skylight Theatre
1816 1/2 N. Vermont Avenue
Los Angeles CA 90027

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 9/8/2018 - 10/7/2018
Saturday, 09/08/2018
Sunday, 09/09/2018
Monday, 09/10/2018
Friday, 09/14/2018
Saturday, 09/15/2018
Sunday, 09/16/2018
Monday, 09/17/2018
Friday, 09/21/2018
Saturday, 09/22/2018
Sunday, 09/23/2018
Monday, 09/24/2018
Friday, 09/28/2018
Saturday, 09/29/2018
Sunday, 09/30/2018
Monday, 10/01/2018
Friday, 10/05/2018
Saturday, 10/06/2018
Sunday, 10/07/2018

Performance Times
Fridays and Saturdays at 8:30pm
Sundays at 2:00pm
Mondays at 8:00pm

Closing: October 7, 2018.

Ticket Information:
Reservations: atctix.org or http://SkylightTix.com

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
https://www.facebook.com/aussietheatreco

@AussieTheatreCo


 

performing arts performers
stage