Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 865 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

“Soul Doctor” The Musical

“Soul Doctor” The MusicalThe biographical “Soul Doctor” The Musical tells the incredible story of real-life "singing rabbi" Shlomo Carlebach and his unlikely friendship with Nina Simone, the legendary jazz singer and civil rights activist. Together their music became an important voice of social change. A smash hit off-Broadway, this spirited San Diego production performs at the Lyceum Theatre April 3-22, 2018.

Audiences and critics rave about this heart warming family musical. From his beginnings in pre-world war II Germany to performing on the world stage with legendary artists, Nina Simone, the Grateful Dead and Jefferson Airplane, Carlebach’s journey inspired millions of people but at the same time it took a deep personal toll. “Soul Doctor” not only dramatizes his life as a Rabbi who travelled the world healing souls through his message of love and compassion, but it also provides timely insight into his unusual forays in interracial understanding. Carlebach’s expansive perspective of Judaism and his open acceptance of less religious, secular Jews and the disaffected youth of the '60s was a monumental shift, leaving a legacy of soulful, loving music and a renewed Jewish community.

Presenter / Producer: Schlomo Tours LLC

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 619-544-1000

Venue
Lyceum Theatre
79 Horton Plaza
San Diego CA 92101

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 4/3/2018 - 4/22/2018
Tuesday, 04/03/2018
Wednesday, 04/04/2018
Thursday, 04/05/2018
Friday, 04/06/2018
Saturday, 04/07/2018
Sunday, 04/08/2018
Monday, 04/09/2018
Tuesday, 04/10/2018
Wednesday, 04/11/2018
Thursday, 04/12/2018
Friday, 04/13/2018
Saturday, 04/14/2018
Sunday, 04/15/2018
Monday, 04/16/2018
Tuesday, 04/17/2018
Wednesday, 04/18/2018
Thursday, 04/19/2018
Friday, 04/20/2018
Saturday, 04/21/2018
Sunday, 04/22/2018

Performance Times
Varies- check theatre website

Ticket Information:
Purchase tickets here: http://securesite.sdrep.org/single/PSDetail.aspx?psn=12272

Tickets: $25-$95
Student, Military and Senior Discounts available. Group sales available by contacting the box office.   


Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage