Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 945 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Smart Love

Smart LoveA contemporary comedy with a scientific twist! How far will human beings go in order to salvage love?

Pacific Resident Theatre presents the West Coast Premiere of “Smart Love” by Brian Letscher. The Wachowski household is turned upside down when their son makes a surprise visit home, from MIT, with an unexpected guest.

“So MUCH in this brave new world of technology! No doubt we are all severely over-stimulated,” says playwright Brian Letscher. “Irony apparent, I turn on my TV and click through a half-dozen streaming services trying to find the perfect viewing pleasure that will help me feel better and send me off to sleep. Further down that meta-hole, I find a documentary on the explosion of technology and the possibilities moving forward in this brave new world. I cannot fall asleep, but a year later I have this play."

Brian Letscher’s play "When The Lights Come On" premiered at Jeff Daniels' The Purple Rose Theatre Company where "Smart Love" had a sold-out run in 2017. As an actor Brian most recently appeared as "Tom Larsen" on the hit TV show "Scandal," among several other regular and recurring roles.

Director Elina de Santos received the LADCC Career Achievement in Directing Award and she is Co-Artistic Director of at Rogue Machine Theatre. Selected World Premieres: "Hostage" (MK Brooks), "In the Valley of the Shadow" (K. Cortez), "Dirty Filthy Love Story" (R. Mersola), "Razorback" (J. Pollono), and "Church & State" (J. Williams). Elina won the LADCC Award (Direction) for Williams’ Orpheus Descending at Pacific Resident Theatre.

Pacific Resident Theatre is nationally recognized as one of the top regional theaters on the West Coast. The company presents works of the highest quality, in order to entertain, inform and educate its multicultural community. In addition to the company’s commitment to rediscover the rarely performed classics, PRT is focused on fostering and developing new works through the collaboration of an artistic ensemble influenced by societal relevance, past, present and future. Pacific Resident Theatre promotes the theatre arts by providing opportunities for artists and craftsmen to develop and enrich their skills.

Cast includes Melissa Weber Bales (Rhinoceros, A View from the Bridge - LA Weekly Award nom - Leading Female Performance) Scott Conte (Big Love, Golden Boy, Anna Christie, Lulu, Rocket to the Moon, Lions, The Cherry Orchard) Zachary Grant (Rogue Machine’s Oppenheimer, Skylight Theatre’s Hostage, Odyssey Theatre’s Punk Rock. Film: Being Charlie directed by Rob Reiner) Michael Mantell (The Model Apartment at Geffen Playhouse, Broadway Bound at Odyssey, A Small Fire at Echo, The Tenth Man at Lincoln Center).

Produced by Marilyn Fox, Terry Davis, and Tania Getty. David Mauer (Set Design), Leigh Allen (Lighting Designer), Chris Moscatiello (Sound Design), Elizabeth Cox (Costume Design).


SMART LOVE runs at 8pm on Thursdays - Saturdays, and 3pm on Sundays through February 24, 2019. Pacific Resident Theatre is located at 703 Venice Blvd. in Venice, CA 90291. Tickets are $25 - $34 and can be purchased online at http://www.pacificresidenttheatre.com or by calling (310) 822-8392.


Presenter / Producer: Marilyn Fox, Tania Getty, and Terry Davis

Listed Categories
Theater > Theatrical Comedy


Event Phone: 310-822-8392

Venue
Pacific Resident Theatre
703 Venice Blvd.
Venice CA 90291

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 1/12/2019 - 2/24/2019
Saturday, 01/12/2019
Sunday, 01/13/2019
Thursday, 01/17/2019
Friday, 01/18/2019
Saturday, 01/19/2019
Sunday, 01/20/2019
Thursday, 01/24/2019
Friday, 01/25/2019
Saturday, 01/26/2019
Sunday, 01/27/2019
Thursday, 01/31/2019
Friday, 02/01/2019
Saturday, 02/02/2019
Sunday, 02/03/2019
Thursday, 02/07/2019
Friday, 02/08/2019
Saturday, 02/09/2019
Sunday, 02/10/2019
Thursday, 02/14/2019
Friday, 02/15/2019
Saturday, 02/16/2019
Sunday, 02/17/2019
Thursday, 02/21/2019
Friday, 02/22/2019
Saturday, 02/23/2019
Sunday, 02/24/2019

Performance Times
8pm Thursdays - Saturday
3pm on Sundays


Ticket Information:
$25 - $34

For reservations call (310) 822-8392 or online at http://www.pacificresidenttheatre.com


Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
@PacificResThtr

https://www.facebook.com/PacificResidentTheatre/


 

performing arts performers
stage