Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 818 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Jersey Lily

Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Jersey LilyHolmes and Watson team up with Oscar Wilde to thwart a dastardly scheme by Professor Moriarty. L.A. Premiere.

WHAT: Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Jersey Lily. Los Angeles Premiere engagement of a mystery/ thriller.

WHO: Written by Katie Forgette. Directed by Jules Aaron.

Holmes fans, rejoice! The game’s afoot!


England’s greatest actress and national treasure Lillie Langtry is the target of blackmail in a sex scandal that threatens to bring down the British monarchy. The perpetrator of this extortion is the vilest fiend ever to walk the streets of London, Professor Moriarty. Three men team up in an attempt to thwart the foul misdeed: The Great Detective, Sherlock Holmes his friend, John H. Watson, M.D. and the playwright, Oscar Wilde. Can these three succeed in stopping the arch-villain when Scotland Yard cannot?

Katie Forgette is the playwright. Her other plays include Cindy Rella Everybody’s a Critic Evidence of Things Unseen A Facility for Living and The O’Conner Girls. She cites the 1899 play Sherlock Holmes by William Gillette and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle as one of the inspirations for her own Holmes play. Most of her professional career, however, has been spent as an actress with the Seattle Repertory.

Jules Aaron directs the new Theatre 40 production. Jules is one of Los Angeles’ most honored directors, the recipient of over thirty awards for his work directing over 250 stage and television productions. Last season, he directed Separate Tables and the West Coast Premiere of The Consul, the Tramp and America’s Sweetheart. In the previous season, he directed A Shred of Evidence and Rod Serling’s Patterns at Theatre 40.

The cast for Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Jersey Lily includes Martin Thompson as Sherlock Holmes, John Wallace Combs as Dr. Watson, Melissa Collins as Lillie Langtry, Scott Facher as Oscar Wilde, David Buzzotta as Professor Moriarty, and Alison Blanchard, Anibal Silverya, and Shawn Savage.

Assistant director: Roger Weiss. Lighting design: Ric Zimmerman. Sound design: Joseph “Sloe” Slawinski. Costume design: Michèle Young.  Set design: Jeff G. Rack. Stage manager: Don Solosan. Assistant stage manager :Richard Carner.

Presenter / Producer: Theatre 40

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama
Theater > Theatrical Comedy


Event Phone: 310-364-0535

Venue
Theatre 40
241 S. Moreno Dr.
Beverly Hills CA 90212

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 11/16/2017 - 12/17/2017
Thursday, 11/16/2017
Friday, 11/17/2017
Saturday, 11/18/2017
Sunday, 11/19/2017
Saturday, 11/25/2017
Sunday, 11/26/2017
Thursday, 11/30/2017
Friday, 12/01/2017
Saturday, 12/02/2017
Sunday, 12/03/2017
Monday, 12/04/2017
Thursday, 12/07/2017
Friday, 12/08/2017
Saturday, 12/09/2017
Sunday, 12/10/2017
Monday, 12/11/2017
Thursday, 12/14/2017
Friday, 12/15/2017
Saturday, 12/16/2017
Sunday, 12/17/2017

Performance Times
Thurs.-Sat. at 8:00, Sun. at 2:00. Except Fri. Nov. 17 at 7:00 and Mondays Dec. 4 and 11 at 8:00.

Ticket Information:
$30.

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
www.theatre40.org


 

performing arts performers
stage