Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 825 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Mojada: A Medea in Los Angeles

Mojada: A Medea in Los Angeles“It doesn’t get much better than this! … brilliantly written … Set in modern day Los Angeles … skillfully directed …at the beautiful Getty Villa outdoor Amphitheatre. The casting could not have been better. Not a weak link in this immensely talented ensemble.  This is MUST see theater in Los Angeles. It is one of our FEATURED events. GO! ” – Performing Arts LIVE

From MacArthur Fellow and critically acclaimed author of Electricidad and Oedipus el Rey, Luis Alfaro's Mojada is a breathtaking reimagining of Euripides's Medea transported to East Los Angeles. Medea, a seamstress with extraordinary skill, runs from a past of betrayals.

With husband Hason and their son in tow, our storied heroine’s struggle to adapt takes a disastrous turn when old and new worlds meet in the City of Angels.

A new adaptation by Luis Alfaro
Based on Euripides’s Medea
Directed by Jessica Kubzansky
Produced by The Theatre @ Boston Court

---------------------------------------------
OUR THOUGHTS ON THIS PRODUCTION

“It doesn’t get much better than this! This new adaptation based on Euripides’s MEDEA is brilliantly written by Los Angeles native Luis Alfaro. Set in modern day Los Angeles the play is skillfully directed by Boston Court’s Jessica Kubzansky at the beautiful Getty Villa outdoor Amphitheatre. The casting could not have been better. Not a weak link in this immensely talented ensemble.  This is MUST see theater in Los Angeles. You will be totally immersed in this extraordinary production from the beginning to the explosive ending. It is one of our FEATURED events. GO! ” – Performing Arts LIVE

Presenter / Producer: The Getty Villa

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 310-440-7300

Venue
Getty Villa
Barbara and Lawrence Fleischman Theater
17985 Pacific Coast Highway
Malibu CA

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside
LA - San Fernando Valley


Performance Dates: 9/3/2015 - 10/10/2015
Thursday, 09/03/2015
Friday, 09/04/2015
Saturday, 09/05/2015
Thursday, 09/10/2015
Friday, 09/11/2015
Saturday, 09/12/2015
Thursday, 09/17/2015
Friday, 09/18/2015
Saturday, 09/19/2015
Thursday, 09/24/2015
Friday, 09/25/2015
Saturday, 09/26/2015
Thursday, 10/01/2015
Friday, 10/02/2015
Saturday, 10/03/2015
Thursday, 10/08/2015
Friday, 10/09/2015
Saturday, 10/10/2015

Performance Times
Thursdays - Saturdays, September 10 - October 3, at 8 pm

Ticket Information:
Tickets $36–45

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage