Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 893 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

I am Sophie

I am SophieFilled with philosophie de la vie, humor, and heartache I Am Sophie is a journey of identity. The audience becomes the confidante to Sophie Carter, formerly known as Kate Carter. When she returns to the United States after living in Paris, she has become a changed woman. Now home, to take care of her father, her loved ones meet Sophie for the first time. What follows is an existential adventure.

Directed by Susan Angelo, the piece is written and performed by Corinne Shor. Corinne has appeared on stages globally with a diversity of roles that include works from Shakespeare to Sketch Comedy. Locally, she was seen as May Bee Burley in Verdigris by Jim Beaver at Theatre West, and she has a recurring role as the mysterious Matron on NBC’s The Event, playing opposite Hal Holbrook & Jason Ritter. Corinne's training includes The Theatre School Jacques Lecoq in Paris, The Gaiety School of Acting in Dublin, and Improvisation at Upright Citizens Brigade. She often works as a narrator for young adult audiobooks (Scars of Youth, In my Dreams, The Fairy King).

“Who are we? Really. When it’s all stripped away-- the stories, the things that divide us, the beliefs we cling to? Who are we? Finding our voice and power within this human experience is ultimately what matters the most, say director Susan Angelo. I hope this piece becomes an inspiration to the people who see it, and perhaps sparks their inner Sophie.”

Pacific Resident Theatre is nationally recognized as one of the top regional theaters on the West Coast. The company presents works of the highest quality, in order to entertain, inform and educate its multicultural community. In addition to the company’s commitment to rediscover the rarely performed classics, PRT is focused on fostering and developing new works through the collaboration of an artistic ensemble influenced by societal relevance, past, present and future. Pacific Resident Theatre promotes the theatre arts by providing opportunities for artists and craftsmen to develop and enrich their skills.

Production Team: Produced by Marilyn Fox and Sara Newman-Martins. Joan-Angela Hess (Associate Producer) Ed Brown and Yancey Dunham (Co-Lighting Designers), Grant Escandón (Sound Design).

I Am Sophie opens at 8pm on Saturday, November 17th and runs at 8pm Thursdays - Saturdays, 3pm on Sundays through January 27, 2019 (no performances on 11/22, 12/20 – 12/30). Pacific Resident Theatre is located at 705 1/2 Venice Blvd. in Venice, CA 90291. Tickets are $25 - $34 and can be purchased online at http://www.pacificresidenttheatre.com or by calling (310) 822-8392.


Presenter / Producer: Pacific Resident Theatre

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 310-822-8392 x31082

Venue
Pacific Resident Theatre
705 1/2 Venice Blvd.
Venice CA 90291

Regions:
Long Beach & South Bay


Performance Dates: 11/17/2018 - 1/27/2019
Saturday, 11/17/2018
Sunday, 11/18/2018
Friday, 11/23/2018
Saturday, 11/24/2018
Sunday, 11/25/2018
Thursday, 11/29/2018
Friday, 11/30/2018
Saturday, 12/01/2018
Sunday, 12/02/2018
Thursday, 12/06/2018
Friday, 12/07/2018
Saturday, 12/08/2018
Sunday, 12/09/2018
Thursday, 12/13/2018
Friday, 12/14/2018
Saturday, 12/15/2018
Sunday, 12/16/2018
Thursday, 01/03/2019
Friday, 01/04/2019
Saturday, 01/05/2019
Sunday, 01/06/2019
Thursday, 01/10/2019
Friday, 01/11/2019
Saturday, 01/12/2019
Sunday, 01/13/2019
Thursday, 01/17/2019
Friday, 01/18/2019
Saturday, 01/19/2019
Sunday, 01/20/2019
Thursday, 01/24/2019
Friday, 01/25/2019
Saturday, 01/26/2019
Sunday, 01/27/2019

Performance Times
Thursday-Saturday at 8:00, Sundays at 3:00

Ticket Information:
$25-$34

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
http://www.facebook.com/PacificResidentTheatre

http://twitter.com/PacificResThtr


 

performing arts performers
stage