Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 675 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram



Flying Dream

Flying DreamClassic Black American music by the late George Walker, Florence Price, William Grant Still, and the great Duke Ellington. Featuring pianists Althea Waites and Cecil Lydle, Lyris Quartet, and conductor Scott Dunn.

Lyris Quartet will play the original version of Lyric, the late 96-year old George Walker’s most often performed work. This haunting music by the first Black composer to receive a Pulitzer Prize will be surrounded by composers who joined his quest for recognition and success. Florence Price (1887-1953) has received extensive favorable ink in The New Yorker and the New York Times. Pianist Althea Waites prepared a performing edition to record the Price Piano Sonata in 1993. She will join the Lyris Quartet and a harpist in William Grant Still’s Ennanga. On her championship of Still’s music, Ann Arbor News hailed her as “a pianist who is blessed with a profound musicality." Waites will perform Ellington’s exquisite tone poem “Single Petal of a Rose’ inspired by his meeting Queen Elizabeth in 1958. A new version of Ellington’s one-movement piano concerto New World A-Comin’ will close the program featuring pianist Christopher Taylor conducted and arranged by Scott Dunn.

Presenter / Producer: Jacarandamusic

Listed Categories
Music > Classical
Music > Chamber Music
Music > Contemporary Classical / New Music

Event Phone: --

First Pres of Santa Monica
1220 2nd Street
Santa Monica CA 90401

LA - Hollywood / Westside

Performance Dates: 3/23/2019
Saturday, 03/23/2019

Performance Times
Sanctuary Series 7:00

Ticket Information:
Adult - $45
Student - $20

Web Link for ticketing

Event Information

Social Media or other Links:


performing arts performers