Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 649 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram



Czech Philharmonic & Kirill Gerstein

Czech Philharmonic & Kirill GersteinSemyon Bychkov, conductor
Kirill Gerstein, piano

TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 1
DVORÁK: Symphony No. 7

On its first tour of the United States under new music director Semyon Bychkov, the Czech Philharmonic is part of the Philharmonic Society's first-ever orchestral residency. The two evenings of performances combine the orchestra's Dvorák legacy and Bychkov's passion for his fellow Russian, Tchaikovsky. The program for night two features pianist Kirill Gerstein in Tchaikovsky's celebrated Piano Concerto No. 1, along with Dvorák's Symphony No. 7.

For more than a century, the Czech Philharmonic has represented the pinnacle of Czech cultural achievement. On January 4, 1896, Antonín Dvorák conducted the Czech Philharmonic's debut performance at the Rudolfinum in Prague, which is still home to the Czech Philharmonic's Prague concerts. In 1908, Gustav Mahler led the orchestra in the world premiere of his Symphony No. 7. Other composers who have collaborated with the orchestra include Edward Grieg, Stravinsky, Honegger, Milhaud and Penderecki. Over the years, the Czech Philharmonic has grown its international reputation, leading to its well-deserved position on Gramophone magazine's ranking of the world's 20 greatest orchestras.

Pianist Kirill Gerstein’s curiosity and versatility has led to a powerful engagement with a wide range of repertoire and styles. From Bach to Adès, his playing is distinguished by its clarity of expression, discerning intelligence and virtuosity. Gerstein’s energetic and imaginative musical personality has taken him rapidly to the top of his profession. Gerstein has performed Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto in the composer’s own final version from 1879 around the world to great acclaim ("iconoclastic, improvisatory and thrilling," The Times).

Presenter / Producer: Philharmonic Society of Orange County

Listed Categories
Music > Classical

Event Phone: 949-553-2422 x302

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall
600 Town Center Dr
Costa Mesa CA 92626

Orange County

Performance Dates: 11/8/2018
Thursday, 11/08/2018

Performance Times

Ticket Information:
Starting at $48

Web Link for ticketing

Event Information

Social Media or other Links:


performing arts performers