Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 1004 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Cost of Living

Cost of LivingThe West Coast premiere of Martyna Majoks gripping and surprisingly funny play, winner of the 2018 Pulitzer Prize.

Achingly human, and surprisingly funny! The Fountain Theatre presents the West Coast premiere of Cost of Living, the 2018 Pulitzer Prize-winning play by Martyna Majok.


In this gripping and unexpectedly joyful play, John is a rich, quick-witted grad student who has cerebral palsy. Ani is an hilariously foul-mouthed quadriplegic. The people who help them, Jess and Eddie, have their own struggles to contend with. Cost of Living is a haunting, rigorously unsentimental play about the forces that bring people together and the realities of facing the world with physical disabilities.

During the awards ceremony at Columbia University, Pulitzer Prize administrator Dana Canedy described Cost of Living as “an honest, original work that invites audiences to examine diverse perspectives of privilege and human connection through two pairs of mismatched individuals, a former trucker and his recently paralyzed ex-wife and an arrogant young man with cerebral palsy and his new caregiver.”

Cost of Living premiered at the Williamstown Theatre Festival, then transferred off-Broadway in a Manhattan Theatre Club production at City Center. In addition to the Pulitzer, the play garnered the Edgerton New Play Prize the Jean Kennedy Smith Prize, John F. Kennedy Center the Women's Invitational Prize, Ashland New Play Festival the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding New Play and was named one of the “Best Plays of 2017” by The New York Times.

Cost of Living runs Oct. 20 through Dec. 16, with performances on Fridays at 8 p.m. Saturdays at 2 p.m. and 8 p.m. Sundays at 2 p.m. and Mondays at 8 p.m. (no matinee performance on Saturday, Oct. 20 dark Monday, Oct. 22). Three preview performances take place on Wednesday, Oct. 17 Thursday, Oct. 18 and Friday, Oct. 19, all at 8 p.m. Tickets range from $25–$45 Pay-What-You-Want seating is available every Monday night in addition to regular seating (subject to availability). The Fountain Theatre is located at 5060 Fountain Avenue (at Normandie) in Los Angeles. Secure, on-site parking is available for $5. The Fountain Theatre is air-conditioned and wheelchair accessible. Patrons are invited to relax before and after the show at the Fountain’s indoor/outdoor café. For reservations and information, call (323) 663-1525 or go to www.FountainTheatre.com.

Presenter / Producer: The Fountain Theatre

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 323-663-1525

Venue
The Fountain Theatre
5060 Fountain Avenue
Los Angeles CA 90029

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 10/17/2018 - 12/16/2018
Wednesday, 10/17/2018
Thursday, 10/18/2018
Friday, 10/19/2018
Saturday, 10/20/2018
Sunday, 10/21/2018
Monday, 10/22/2018
Friday, 10/26/2018
Saturday, 10/27/2018
Sunday, 10/28/2018
Monday, 10/29/2018
Friday, 11/02/2018
Saturday, 11/03/2018
Sunday, 11/04/2018
Monday, 11/05/2018
Friday, 11/09/2018
Saturday, 11/10/2018
Sunday, 11/11/2018
Monday, 11/12/2018
Friday, 11/16/2018
Saturday, 11/17/2018
Sunday, 11/18/2018
Monday, 11/19/2018
Friday, 11/23/2018
Saturday, 11/24/2018
Sunday, 11/25/2018
Monday, 11/26/2018
Friday, 11/30/2018
Saturday, 12/01/2018
Sunday, 12/02/2018
Monday, 12/03/2018
Friday, 12/07/2018
Saturday, 12/08/2018
Sunday, 12/09/2018
Monday, 12/10/2018
Friday, 12/14/2018
Saturday, 12/15/2018
Sunday, 12/16/2018

Performance Times
Fridays through Saturdays 8:00 pm Sat., Sun. 2:00 pm

Ticket Information:
$25-$45 (regular seating $40 seniors $35 students $25

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
www.facebook.com/TheFountainTheatre


 

performing arts performers
stage