Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 677 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Chess

Chess"One of the best rock scores ever produced. This is an angry, difficult, demanding and rewarding show.” – TIME

“Worth seeing.” – New York Post

EACH PERFORMANCE WILL INCLUDE A CHAMPAGNE AND DESSERT RECEPTION


Book by Richard Nelson
Lyrics by Tim Rice
Music by Björn Ulvaeus & Benny Andersson
The collaborators on CHESS are giants of rock music (ABBA) and rock musicals, and here they have created a complex rock opera that played to full Broadway houses and standing ovations. In this musical, the ancient game becomes a metaphor for romantic rivalries, competitive gamesmanship, super-power politics, and international intrigues. The pawns in this drama form a love triangle: the loutish American chess star, the earnest Russian champion, and a Hungarian American female assistant who arrives at the international chess match in Bangkok with the American, but falls for the Russian. From Bangkok to Budapest the players, lovers, politicians, and spies manipulate and are manipulated to the pulse of a monumental rock score that includes “One Night in Bangkok” and “Heaven Help My Heart.”

We've added a performance of CHESS
Sunday, March 31st at 7:30 PM
Thanks to rave reviews and tremendous word-of-mouth, there's been an overwhelming demand for tickets.
Don't miss your opportunity to see CHESS at the new CVRep Playhouse in Cathedral City.

Presenter / Producer: Coachella Valley Repertory

Listed Categories
Theater > Musicals


Event Phone: 760-296-2966

Venue
Coachella Valley Repertory Playhouse
68510 E. Palm Canyon Dr. (Hwy 111)
Cathedral City CA 92234

Regions:
Palm Springs / Coachella Valley


Performance Dates: 3/13/2019 - 3/31/2019
Wednesday, 03/13/2019
Thursday, 03/14/2019
Friday, 03/15/2019
Saturday, 03/16/2019
Sunday, 03/17/2019
Wednesday, 03/20/2019
Thursday, 03/21/2019
Friday, 03/22/2019
Saturday, 03/23/2019
Sunday, 03/24/2019
Tuesday, 03/26/2019
Wednesday, 03/27/2019
Thursday, 03/28/2019
Friday, 03/29/2019
Saturday, 03/30/2019
Sunday, 03/31/2019

Performance Times
Wed through Sat 7:30PM
Sat and Sun 2:00Pm
Tue., Mar 26 7:30PM

We've added a performance of CHESS
Sunday, March 31st at 7:30 PM

Ticket Information:
General $53 (includes champagne & dessert reception at each performance)

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
www.facebook.com/cvrep


 

performing arts performers
stage