Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 760 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

ACB Presents: Summer Premieres

ACB Presents: Summer PremieresAmerican Contemporary Ballet presents two new ballets by Artistic Director Lincoln Jones that couldn't be more different -- except in the beauty of their scores. See Candide Overture and Transfigured Night -- to live music, in a skyscraper surrounded by 360-degree views of downtown L.A. An extraordinary way to experience ballet!

It’s uncertain what audiences expected at the 1902 Vienna premiere of Arnold Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht, but the debut was met with hisses, riots and fistfights. At the August 2 premiere of ACB’s Transfigured Night, the audience can expect to hear why the piece became very successful soon afterwards.

The company’s Summer Premieres series features two ballets as different as night and day, but equally inspired by some of the most beautiful music of two very different composers.

Candide Overture celebrates Leonard Bernstein's centennial with a tribute to his sunny, ebullient, rhythmic dance music. By contrast, Transfigured Night explores the haunting yet radiant world of two lovers as one of them confesses a secret. The original ballet by ACB Artistic Director Lincoln Jones is set to the once-controversial piece written by Schoenberg before he developed his twelve-tone system it reveals a young composer of deep feeling and stunning melodic and harmonic gifts.

“Verklärte Nacht is incredibly beautiful, unique music. Schoenberg was at the beginning of his career when he wrote it, and yet he depicts the inner states of his protagonists with astounding depth,” says Jones. “As a choreographer, it’s like working with a great script – it makes my job that much easier.”  

It’s also an invitation for those still in the ‘Schoenberg destroyed music’ camp to rethink that idea, demonstrating how well he could work within traditional, though daring, tonality. Some of the melee surrounding its debut was in reaction to its bold harmonies and ‘forbidden chords’, but to most contemporary ears, says Jones, it simply sounds exquisite.


Presenter / Producer: American Contemporary Ballet

Listed Categories
Dance > Ballet


Event Phone: 213-878-9020

Venue
American Contemporary Ballet
700 S Flower
Suite 3200
Los Angeles CA 90017

Regions:
LA - Central / Downtown


Performance Dates: 8/2/2018 - 8/12/2018
Thursday, 08/02/2018
Friday, 08/03/2018
Saturday, 08/04/2018
Sunday, 08/05/2018
Thursday, 08/09/2018
Friday, 08/10/2018
Saturday, 08/11/2018
Sunday, 08/12/2018

Performance Times
Thursday, August 2 at 8:00 p.m. Friday, August 3 at 8:00 p.m. Saturday, August 4 at 8:00 p.m. Sunday, August 5 at 4:00 p.m. Thursday, August 9 at 8:00 p.m. Friday, August 10 at 8:00 p.m. Saturday, August 11 at 8:00 p.m. Sunday, August 12 at 4:00 p.m.

Ticket Information:
Tickets are $40 - $105 visit acbdances.com

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage