Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 1112 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Spectacular Balanchine!

Spectacular Balanchine!There is the avante-garde Balanchine, the classical Balanchine, and then there is the footwork and fireworks Balanchine of Who Cares?, Western Symphony, Union Jack, and Stars and Stripes. These are ballets that out-dance Broadway and the Bolshoi at the same time. On opening night, join us on top of LA for ACB's rooftop Summer Kickoff party!

Strike Up the Balanchine!

When asked his reason for choreographing a ballet to Sousa’s marches, George Balanchine famously replied, “Because I like his music.” So did just about everyone else in America – what further inspiration do you need?

None, as far as American Contemporary Ballet Artistic Director Lincoln Jones is concerned. Spectacular Balanchine!, this season’s iteration of the company’s Balanchine and the Classics program, showcases Balanchine’s buoyant choreography to the popular music of his day with excerpts from four ballets to music orchestrated by American composer Hershey Kay.

Jones says it’s a side of Balanchine that ACB hasn’t yet shown. “While works like Agon are tremendous avant-garde illustrations of music, these four pieces express the truly joyful aspects of his personality as a choreographer. In these ballets, he connects so strongly to the pure dance impulse we all feel.”

Spectacular Balanchine! includes performances from Who Cares?, Stars and Stripes, Union Jack and Western Symphony, as well as an original balletic tribute to their style by Jones.

Jones says the show is designed to be both a stirring reminder of both Balanchine’s scope as an artist, and his power to capture and bring to life the collective cultural spirit of the time. “I think anyone who sees this show will understand why Balanchine was not only ballet’s best choreographer, but Broadway’s as well.”

For donors with a fondness for spectacular views and no history of vertigo, ACB will host an opening night post-performance Summer Kickoff rooftop party, 360-degree panoramic city views included.


Presenter / Producer: American Contemporary Ballet

Listed Categories
Dance > Ballet


Event Phone: 213-878-9869 x9020

Venue
American Contemporary Ballet
700 S Flower
Suite 3200
Los Angeles CA 90017

Regions:
LA - Central / Downtown


Performance Dates: 6/7/2018 - 6/17/2018
Thursday, 06/07/2018
Friday, 06/08/2018
Saturday, 06/09/2018
Sunday, 06/10/2018
Thursday, 06/14/2018
Friday, 06/15/2018
Saturday, 06/16/2018
Sunday, 06/17/2018

Performance Times
Thursday, June 7 at 8:00 p.m. Friday, June 8 at 8:00 p.m. Saturday, June 9 at 8:00 p.m. Sunday, June 10 at 4:00 p.m. Thursday, June 14 at 8:00 p.m. Friday, June 15 at 8:00 p.m. Saturday, June 16 at 8:00 p.m. Sunday, June 17 at 4:00 p.m.

Ticket Information:
$40 - $500

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage