Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 1116 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

A Thousand Splendid Suns

A Thousand Splendid Suns Southern California premiere

A sweeping and deeply moving theatrical adaptation of Khaled Hosseini’s best-selling novel. The epic story of three generations of Afghan women and their remarkable resilience, A Thousand Splendid Suns is set in the war-torn neighborhoods of 1990s Kabul.


When battle upends her family, beautiful Laila must seek shelter, first in the home and then in the arms of her older neighbor. Soon she forges an extraordinary and unlikely friendship with Mariam, her new husband’s first wife. Summoning the strength to defy a tyrannical society, the two women seek hope and the promise of a better future. Adapted for the stage by acclaimed Irish–Indian playwright Ursula Rani Sarma, this breathtaking new production features music from renowned composer David Coulter. The Huffington Post says, “There’s no denying the play’s power as well as the beauty of its staging and its exquisite musical backdrop,” while the San Francisco Chronicle heralds its “epic splendor,” writing that it “dazzles with its opulence and humanity.”

Production Sponsor
Debra Turner

Southern California premiere
By Ursula Rani Sarma
Adapted from the novel by Khaled Hosseini
Directed by Carey Perloff
In association with American Conservatory Theater

May 12 - June 17

Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage
Old Globe Theatre
Conrad Prebys Theatre Center

Presenter / Producer: The Old Globe

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 619-234-5623

Venue
The Old Globe
1363 Old Globe Way
San Diego CA 92101

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 5/12/2018 - 6/17/2018
Saturday, 05/12/2018
Sunday, 05/13/2018
Tuesday, 05/15/2018
Wednesday, 05/16/2018
Thursday, 05/17/2018
Friday, 05/18/2018
Saturday, 05/19/2018
Sunday, 05/20/2018
Tuesday, 05/22/2018
Wednesday, 05/23/2018
Thursday, 05/24/2018
Friday, 05/25/2018
Saturday, 05/26/2018
Sunday, 05/27/2018
Tuesday, 05/29/2018
Wednesday, 05/30/2018
Thursday, 05/31/2018
Friday, 06/01/2018
Saturday, 06/02/2018
Sunday, 06/03/2018
Tuesday, 06/05/2018
Wednesday, 06/06/2018
Thursday, 06/07/2018
Friday, 06/08/2018
Saturday, 06/09/2018
Sunday, 06/10/2018
Tuesday, 06/12/2018
Wednesday, 06/13/2018
Thursday, 06/14/2018
Friday, 06/15/2018
Saturday, 06/16/2018
Sunday, 06/17/2018

Performance Times
For performance times please go to www.TheOldGlobe.org

Ticket Information:
SINGLE TICKETS start at $29 dollars

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage