Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 1123 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Antigone X

 Antigone XIn this multi-media adaptation, LA-based writer Paula Cizmar poses a question that has lingered for two thousand years: who will dare defy authoritarian rule and follow the higher laws of love and decency?


Thebes is now a ruin surrounded by refugee camps. Police violence, terrorists, predators, demagogues abound. This contemporary meditation on love, power and war is based on the classic by Sophocles. In this multi-media adaptation, LA-based writer Paula Cizmar poses a question that has lingered for two thousand years: who will dare defy authoritarian rule and follow the higher laws of love and decency?

Jeff Janisheski is the Artistic Director at California Repertory Company and has worked extensively in Australia, Japan and New York.

Presenter / Producer: California Repertory Company

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 562-985-4500

Venue
CSULB University Theatre
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach CA 90840

Regions:
Long Beach & South Bay


Performance Dates: 3/22/2018 - 4/8/2018
Thursday, 03/22/2018
Friday, 03/23/2018
Saturday, 03/24/2018
Sunday, 03/25/2018
Tuesday, 04/03/2018
Wednesday, 04/04/2018
Thursday, 04/05/2018
Friday, 04/06/2018
Saturday, 04/07/2018
Sunday, 04/08/2018

Performance Times
Weeknights at 8pm
Saturdays at 2pm and 8pm
Sunday at 2pm
Thursday 4/5 at 7pm

Ticket Information:
$20 discounts for students, military and senior citizens

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage